Refuge 

The weekly challenge this Sunday from Haiku Horizons gave me a bit of a challenge, as the name would imply it should I reckon. The word was “refuge” and the topic came to my mind with ease. But the haiku took some thought and a couple of attempts before I got something I was satisfied with, which is a little unusual for me; normally I have an idea and it pours out in moments but not with this one. 

As some of you may know, I enjoy smoking a pipe filled with a good tobacco. It relaxes me and oftentimes enhances my thinking and creative abilities. I enjoy the rituals that go along with the hobby of being a pipe man, as well as restoring the old ones that have seen better days to like-new and useable condition again. So, I knew that my “refuge” was my pipe from the onset of the exercise. 

The smoke circles up
Clearing my head as it wafts
My pipe, my refuge 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

