Blinded Eyes

I spent quite a while pondering the thoughts shared by Chèvrefeuille, the host at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai, on the latest challenge which is delusion, #706before I was able to put this post, the haiku and haiga together. In his thoughts he pondered upon the idea of delusions in the religions of the world, including the question of if the concept applies to Christianity. My best understanding of his thoughts are he is unsure; my beliefs  are solid and clear. 

I suppose I should preface my remarks with a couple of things. I in no way challenge the belief or faith of Chèvrefeuille; I’m using his post as the fuel I think it was intended to be, to think and write. And for full disclosure I state my beliefs and faith: I am a Christian who believes in the God of the Bible, as He is revealed in His inspired, infallible Word. I believe in a literal seven-day creation and that the accounts and persons of Scripture are just that- actual accounts not allegorical tales (except in the obvious and traditionally understood passages which are, mostly, contained in the psalms and wisdom books). I hold as true the traditional confessions of the faith including such things as The Apostles Creed

I agree there is delusion in all the religions he mentioned, including Christianity. But I believe that other religions are all delusion; reconciliation to God the Father is only through His Son Jesus Christ. 

The delusion in Christianity is the blinding of people to the truth, which is revealed through the Holy Spirit. Those who are “blinded” still see the message of the cross as foolishness while believers know it is the power of God to save us. (See 1 Corinthians 1:18-21)

  

The father of lies 
Blinded eyes from the real truth
Are opened by Christ

Again, I want to make it perfectly clear I am not making a personal attack on Chèvrefeuille. I am stating my solid faith and belief and am not apologetic for that. 
3 comments

  1. You didn’t attack me Greg surely not. I am not a Christian, but I belief in my own way and in that is only unconditional love the source on which I base my life as a father and grandfather and as an oncology nurse. I have the gift of writing, it was given to me by whom you call God and whom I call Unconditional Love …
    I just hope to inspire my Haiku Kai family members and sometimes therefore I use sources such as this month the Bhagavad Gita, but I also did once a series about Tarot (those episodes you can find in the e-book at the left-side of our Carpe Diem Haiku Kai and in that series I have told how I belief ….
    It is always great to learn from each other Greg and you have learned me something today “delusion” is common in several religions and I know I am sometimes disillusioned as I see what is going on in the world, or more closer to myself …. my patients suffering from cancer I see them every day …. every day they look smaller, whiter …. more ill …. and than the delusion as I see them dying …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Chèvrefeuille; I hoped you would understand that I was led to thought by your prompt (as I think you intended). But I worry because sometimes the written word can come across as harsh, unloving, and even outright mean when it was not intended that way- that is why I commented so extensively on this post. The last thing I’d want to do is unintentionally hurt someone, especially someone new to me and that I’m learning from and enjoying their work and effort.

      I, too, think we are all disillusioned a lot, more than we allow ourselves the think I believe. As you said, I teach my kids and grandson to love and honor and respect others, as Jesus taught us. I cannot imagine what you see and feel in your job; I don’t think I could handle that on a daily basis; Kudos to you for all you do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

