Contentment – a #BeWoW post

It seems like there are more unhappy, dissatisfied people in the country, maybe the world, than ever before. So many of us live our lives like a race, going full on, to get the next “thing” that will give us happiness, joy, peace, or contentment. And shortly after obtaining that coveted “thing” we realize the pleasure we received was only for a short season, feel empty again, and the cycle starts over – endlessly it seems.

I will be honest and tell you I ran that race for years; I occasionally find myself slipping back toward that mindset, too, and have to pull away as soon as I recognize it. The new item for my collection, the new tech-gadget, what ever “it” is for me soon looses its “shininess” and becomes just another “thing”. If we are all honest I bet we have all been there. And I’ll bet lots of us are still running that race. But you can break free from it if you choose to.

I read a quote from Charles H. Spurgeon yesterday that made me think about this and I want to share it with you:

Contentment with your lot, and confidence in God–will make life peaceful and happy! A dinner of herbs with contentment, will yield a flavor of satisfaction unknown to those who eat the fattened ox. It is better to be happy than to be rich–happiness lies in the heart, rather than in the purse! 

Happiness lies within us, not within what we can get, pretty radical thinking for the generation we live in today I think. But I find it is 100% true. The joy, happiness, and contentment I get from my relationships with my family, friends (both in-person and online), and God bring me all I really need to be content with my life. That’s not to say one ought not try to better oneself when they are able; no, I’m hardly inferring that. But when you l learn to be comfortable with who you are, where you are, you will begin to experience real contentment. As the Apostle Paul wrote:

“I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need–and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want!” Philippians 4:11-12


#BeWoW Logo

#BeWoW Logo

5 comments

  1. This is a very deep and thoughtful post, Greg. What do you tell someone who is looking for contentment and happiness, has been told many times about God, but does not find the strength to let go and trust?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a matter of realizing that we can do nothing for ourselves apart from Him. Letting go is actually, in my experience, much easier and requires less strength than holding on 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

