Smoke and Flame #OctPoWriMo

Looking at the prompt for today’s OctPoWriMo (elements) I could think only of smoke and fire and how they go hand-in-hand; I’ve taught my grandson since he was a wee-lad that “wherever there’s smoke there always fire” as we drive around seeing the smoke from brush fires and people burning their yard waste. It’s actually quite cute to hear him say, “Look Papaw, smoke! And where’s there’s smoke there’s fire.”

But today’s prompt includes the idea that there is a duality in the many elements, which I agree. And I could think of no better idea, for me, to show this than in the description of our prayers. 

Incense burns
Petitions are made
A sweet scent
To The One
Who savors
With love each and every one

Flame consumes
The gift offered up
Smoke rises
Heavenward
As the folks solemnly pray

I waffled on which stanza to lead with and think I prefer the Shadorma in this order; you may read it in reverse and prefer that, which is fine, too. 

Psalm 141:2 Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.

Revelation 8:3-4  “And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne. And the smoke of the incense, which came with the prayers of the saints, ascended up before God out of the angel’s hand.”

13 comments

      1. That’s still very nice of you to say 🙂 And it is okay to like someone else’s work; I’m not real “thrilled” with my post today honestly.

        Like

Leave a Reply

