Selflessness #BeWoW #WritersQuoteWednesday

It seems to me that we live in an age that is more self-centered than ever before. Don’t  believe me? Look at the popularity one of the newest gadgets on the market the Selfie Stick, the most popular Christmas gift of 2014. Of course the Selfie Stick fad will likely fade away but it is a fair assessment of our narcissistic society in my opinion (on which I;m the leading expert).

Thinking about an experience I had a couple of years ago with a man at a Christian gather brought to mind a quote of one of my favorite authors, C.S. Lewis: “Selfishness has never been admired.”- C.S. Lewis

Being anything but fleet of foot, I am usually near the end of most lines; sometimes this is by choice, given my balance issues, but mostly is is because I can’t move very fast. As I made my way to the lunch line with a Brother I was discussing some of the issues we were voting on, the man, a minister from another state, made sure to let us in front of him. At first I thought he was being cordial and I appreciated that. But then I heard him paraphrase a verse of Scripture saying, “he who would be first will be last and he who is last shall be first”. And then he allowed another person to get in front of him, repeating his paraphrase; I witnessed this no less than three times. I later told my friend that by his actions, saying what he did aloud time again, he was being proud not humble as the Scripture intends to teach us; he agreed.

In my experience it is much more gratifying to be selfless than to be selfish. And I find that what Lewis said is true, as is the opposite; a selfless person garners respect and admiration if it is sincere selflessness. It takes less effort, too, to be selfless than to be selfish in my experience; you have only to think of others needs before acting. I will admit sometimes it does require more effort and perhaps a little sacrifice to be selfless but not always usually.

I challenge you this week to be a blessing to someone by being selfless toward someone in some way; make it easy and do something for a friend or loved one. Better yet, make it a a little more of an effort and be selfless to a complete stranger.

(This post is linked to both the BeWoW and Writers Quote Wednesday communities.)

10 comments

  1. I’d like to think that is my normal nature, to serve others, but it has been a yuck week for me and this is a reminder how healing and uplifting taking my mind off myself and instead focusing on others can be, exactly what I have not been doing. Wallowing instead, as though all will just heal itself if I dwell on it a bit more! Hope all is well in your world. Melissa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg, I loved your quote and your observations. Isn’t it interesting how many times people who consider themselves religious sometimes forget what they preach? Your story and how you reconciled the Pastor’s behavior is admirable. If only we all could see these things our world would be so much better. Like you, I try hard to stay humble and help others the best I can. Being human, I fall off the wagon too. Thanks for such a great quote this week. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Colleen, for your kind words.

      As you say, we are all just human and fail (I do anyway) more often than we’d like to. But the world can be a better place; we just have to work a little harder at making it that way 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

