Handcrafted #OctPoWriMo Free Verse

Today I am feeling a little – I don’t know – melancholy, maybe. I thought to try and break away from that feeling I would just write a free verse poem for the prompt “in-depth“.

A workbench covered with tools

Many old, some new

Each have a purpose of their own

Make a design detail come alive

The time it takes is a small price

Each item handcrafted

Like days gone by

A symbol of craftsmanship

And pride

This is kind of how I feel when I am able to work on one of my hobbies: using mostly old tools and techniques, with just the power of my hands, making or restoring something the way it would have been done years ago. After a little over two weeks of a spinal stenosis flare up (I’m finally getting a bit better the last two days), I am really longing to get to my workbench. But I reckon it’ll be at least another week or so before I can even seriously hope to be able to. In the meantime, ideas will dance in my mind ….

Leave a Reply

